Eat This! Twice-Baked Almond Croissants at Madeleine Patisserie

I spent my junior year of college studying abroad in Paris. Between classes at the Université de Paris on philosophy, electronic music, psychology, and other esoteric subjects for a food and beverage major in hotel school, I studied croissants. Of course, I didn’t take a course or anything. I just went from bakery to bakery for a year looking for my favorite croissant au beurre.

Paris blogger David Lebovitz snapped this beauty, a favorite of his from Au Levain du Marais on Boulevard Beaumarchais in the 11th.

A great croissant is a work of art. The challenge is maintaining an ethereal crunch on the outside and a pull-apart chew on the inside. Croissants should be ever-so-sightly salty, with a buttery, melt-in-your-mouth quality and faint after tastes of yeast and wheat. A greasy croissant is a no-no. So is one that is overproofed or underbaked. And one made without butter is unthinkable, but common. I was puzzled to see croissants labeled natures and au beurre in most bakeries, and horrified to learn that natures meant the croissants were made with something other than 100% pure butter.

Unfortunately croissant research conducted more than 20 years ago isn’t very helpful today. I couldn’t tell you where to go in Paris for a perfect croissant any more, though I still know one when I see one.

Boulevard du Montparnasse

One of the revelations of my research was the croissant aux amandes fourés, that is, the twice-baked almond croissant. Filled with almond paste, flattened, baked to a crisp, dark brown, and dusted with icing sugar, this elegant refurbishment of leftover croissants ends up being almost better than the original. I particularly loved the version produced by a small bakery on Boulevard du Montparnasse, dangerously close to the the main office of our study-abroad program.

The menu board at Madeleine Patisserie on West 23rd St. Head straight for the almond croissants.

Craving something sweet, the other day I happened into Madeleine Patisserie on West 23rd Street on my way to a tai chi class. Though billing itself as the “Maison du Macarons,” in the past I’ve been unimpressed with the texture and flavor of Madeleine’s macarons. (Closer, though not quite equal to the perfected macarons chez Pierre Hermé are those sold online by Mad Mac.) Contemplating what to eat instead, I noticed a flat, crisp, well-baked, sugar-dusted almond croissant sitting in the back of the display case. I confirmed that this was what I thought it was, with the addition of chocolate, and ordered two, one for Nate and one for me, intending to eat them for dessert after dinner later that night.

The combination of almond, flour, yeast, and butter doesn't get much better than this twice-baked almond croissant from Madeleine Patisserie.

While walking to my class, I took a bite of the croissant. And then I took another. And soon I had eaten it all. Its crunchy, almondy, buttery deliciousness took me right back to Boulevarde du Montparnasse in 1989. It was superb. I thought about eating Nate’s croissant and not even telling him I had bought them, but I feared the extra weight and richness in my stomach might shift my center of gravity and derail my tai chi.

I’ve since been back to the bakery several times, leading different friends to the display case, and the highlight is always the almond croissant. My advice to you?Eat this!

Madeleine Patisserie
132 W. 23rd St., between 6th and 7th Aves.
New York, NY 10011
(212) 243-2757

Share

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat This!, Travel Log

Leave a Reply

